Sunrise_in_the_fog_7723

Grief is a respecter of no one’s timetable but its own, and though it’s still my frequent companion it’s a bit more compassionate with me now.  I didn’t know exactly how to start this much belated post other than to just tell it like it is.  Now that’s out of the way.

It always amazes me how fast time flies by and here we are with another year come and gone.  The beginning of a new year certainly provides plenty in the way of blog fodder which is a good thing because I’m really out of practice. We had many blessings in 2014, despite a lack of concentration and motivation.  What little garden we managed to get planted grew and produced abundantly.  Animals stayed healthy. We stayed healthy.  We even managed to make a little progress on projects around the homestead – a new barn/workshop for David started, poles set to support the roof over the summer kitchen deck, almost all the wallcovering put up inside the cabin.

My Daddy always told me “Do something, even if it’s wrong.”  What he was saying was to stay busy, even if you aren’t sure what to do or how to do it.  There were many days this year when I absolutely didn’t know what I was doing.  I learned that the best way to start a daunting job was simply to start.  Pick up something and deal with it.  Then do it again.  And again.  Finding ourselves in a position of not knowing what we’re doing or where to start is a normal part of learning to homestead, and that learning really never ends.  Trust me, after 20 years I know – no instant experts on Big Turtle Creek.  I also know that a book or a website full of shiny pages covered with pretty pictures, while certainly inspiring, is only going to take you so far.  You’ve got to get your hands dirty.  You’ve got to make mistakes.  The beauty of homesteading is that you can usually compost your mistakes or feed them to the chickens, tear them down and reuse the material, or if nothing else make a nice bonfire out of them.  I’ve done it all.  I’ll probably have to do it all again. Hang in there, dear readers.  When you think you can’t mess up any more feel free to think about me.  The tales I could tell would make you chuckle.

I have hopes for the coming year, my Lord willing.  The seed catalogs are arriving. The gardens are plowed.  The goats are bred.  The chickens are beginning to lay again.  I can see the days ever so slowly starting to lengthen.  I’ve even started my first quilt.  We’re finding ourselves dreaming and planning again.  Get back into pigs?  Maybe a heritage breed?  More fruit trees?  Improvements to the barn?  Expand the asparagus patch?  How about a half-dugout greenhouse like Aunt Ada had????

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” Jeremiah 29:11

I wish you all the most blessed and prosperous of years in 2015 and hope you will continue to visit and share the process of life here On Big Turtle Creek.

(P.S.  New year, new blog look.  I’m still tinkering with it.)

9 thoughts on “Do Something, Even If It’s Wrong

  1. I have thought of you often over this past year, Judy, and am glad to see you are both well, despite the grief.

    Ha! If you ever want a good laugh come stay with us greenhorns for a few days. The things y’all could teach us would seem like child’s play.

    Looking forward to reading more, if the Lord wills you to write more here this year.

  2. Good read, and I’m glad my friend, Stephanie brought my attention to your blog.Your thoughts can apply to many things and places in life (not just homesteading), and it’s good to hear encouragement to ‘just do something’.

  3. Thanks for the honesty, encouragement, and hope. As I re-read the post, the reference for the verse looked funny to me. I think it should be Jeremiah 29:11. No need to post this.

    Thanks again,
    Kent

Leave a Reply

