OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My dear readers (and a heartfelt welcome to my newest readers), I need to begin sharing life on our homestead with you all again.  Unfortunately, first, I have to share why I’ve been gone for so long.  This will be an unusual post for me, as I don’t generally post things of an extremely personal nature, and God willing I’ll never have to do anything like this again.

On March 12tth of this year my only nephew attempted a violent suicide.  The next day, on March 13th, I stood at his bedside as he died.  Charlie was more like a little brother than a nephew and my heart has had a piece torn out.

The world took Charlie and I should have seen it coming.  If there are people you love who need the peace you’ve found or believe you can find in living a simple life; if there is someone who needs to hear the Gospel; share it all with them.

I love you Charlie.  I’m taking care of your things.  I hope we can be together again someday.

16 thoughts on “Charlie

  1. I am so very sorry for your loss. Praying you can feel God’s presence and love during this extremely difficult time.

  2. Oh Judy, I am so very sorry for your huge loss and enormous ache. I have missed reading your posts and comments and you have been in my prayers. I pray you would comfort in the Lord and in your simple life. God bless you. And thank you for sharing, and for the encouragement to be sensitive and reach out to hurting friends and family.

  3. I assumed your absence was the spring rush & I’m bitterly disappointed for you in the wrong direction my assumptions lay. I’ll be praying in the same manner as Stephanie & Patrice, He can take away the rawness & renew to wholeness, sure as the spring.

    1. Thank you, Vanessa. I’m so thankful for many reasons that this didn’t happen in the dead of winter or the oppressive heat of summer.

  4. Judy,
    I’m very sorry for your loss. I will pray for you and your family to find peace in this difficult time.

    1. Robin, it’s getting better on most days, just jumps up and bites me unexpectedly sometimes. Thank you for your kindness.

  5. My prayers and thoughts go out to you after reading this post. I also lost a nephew many years ago and he too was like a little brother to me. It was an extremely devastating time for our whole family as he was the first born of the first born. I’d never had anything hit me so hard and it was the longest, ‘coldest’ winter I’ve ever spent. It took me several months to finally come to terms with the loss…and that was done strictly with God’s grace. It may not seem possible right now, but it will get easier, and there is nothing wrong with allowing those tears and heart ache to flow when they come, because even in the midst of those are the beginnings of the memories and you will find yourself eventually smiling through the heartache and cherishing them as well. I pray God will bless and comfort your family….

Leave a Reply

