Off Grid Is Not A Place

I’ve been mulling over my last post and it came to me: Off grid is not a place.

Understand, dear readers, when I speak of “off grid” I speak from my own perspective – a simple existence unattached to the power lines prioritizing freedom and self-reliance over modern comforts and false security. I’m not talking about people with a $75,000 system and every modern convenience, though there’s nothing wrong with that if that’s your preference. If you have no intention of ever being the least bit uncomfortable, that’s OK as well. It’s just not really relevant to my discussion or my principles. I don’t judge those things, I just don’t choose them.

So if you’re still with me and share the same desire for simplicity, separation and self-reliance think about this:

We live on 45 acres at the end of a dirt road that’s more of a cow trail in a small cabin surrounded by gardens, livestock, woods and wildlife. For us, it’s a paradise and I know there are others who seek the same paradise. But, we could be just as off-grid living in a rented house in town. My last post wasn’t about buying land and moving to the country, though it was framed in that context because that’s what I desired and experienced. It was about preparing for a simple, off-grid life (Again, I speak to a limited audience.)

I have empathy for those who feel trapped; wanting land for a simple life but unable to find or afford it, stuck with a home in town that won’t sell, whatever the obstacle. My point in my last post is unchanged. The way to prepare for life off grid is to do it. Off grid is no further than the cut-off switch on the power pole in the back yard. (Now, before anyone gets wound up, it’s not wise make this transition, say, in New Hampshire in January if your sole source of heat is electric. Conversely, if you live in Dallas and it’s July, please take steps to stay hydrated.) The point is, if your plans and goals are anything like ours were start now. You’ll save some money, learn some skills and strategies, get a chance to test out any tools and equipment you might have, develop confidence and save yourself a little bit of the shock of that first week or so when you do get to your land. It’s easy, just flip the switch.

Because, off-grid is not a place.

2 thoughts on “Off Grid Is Not A Place

  1. I know people who are preparing too, myself included. What I am doing is having off grid weekends – pulling the main breaker Friday evening and not powering back up until Monday morning. This gives me a chance to find the weakness in my training and supplies without losing the food in my freezer and refrigerator. I am currently doing this once a month, but as we get closer to making the move, I intend for it to become the norm. I guess it is a learning/weaning process. Enjoy the blog by the way!

    1. It is definitely a weaning and learning process but the sense of freedom you’ll find as you progress will be amazing. At least it has been for us. 🙂

Leave a Reply

