A Late Spring And A Confession

My dear readers, I admit, I’ve neglected you.  Honestly, I’ve felt a bit guilty about not having posted any witty and expert-sounding tutorials or book reviews and once again have found myself not blogging because I can’t seem to keep up with what the other bloggers are doing.  Yes, I’m odd.  Shame on me.  I apologize.  ‘Nuff said.

The weather has been very odd this year.  Our temperatures have mostly been running about 20 degrees below average on both the high and low end which has put us behind on getting the garden in.  The cabbages are finally through sulking and beginning to grow.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We’ve been battling black cutworms. . .

And seem to be winning after we placed cutworm collars made of tar paper.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Normally by this time of the year the wildflowers are blooming wildly as are the fruit trees but this year things just seem to be a little late.  We are starting, though, to see some spring beauty.P4080186P4080190

Our 2 small wheat patches, about 1,000 square feet altogether, are just about ready to head out and we look forward to having a bit of our own wheat to grind.  This is hard red winter wheat and we have one more small patch of white spring wheat.  Spring wheat isn’t usually grown in Oklahoma but we had success with a seed plot of it last year and are hoping for a small harvest this year.

P4080187

It it warms up normally we will be planting sweet potatoes, okra and cotton sometime on or after the first of May.  The sweet potato slips we began cultivating in February are doing well.  These are ready to go into pots.

P4080195

Spring also means wonderful wild edibles.  We let lamb’s quarter go to seed each year in order to perpetuate this yummy and nutritious green.  Also, April (actually starting the end of March most years) means morel mushrooms.  They’re a bit picky, requiring both warm temps and adequate moisture, but we’re beginning to find some.  We know to hunt for them when the redbuds bloom and the asparagus begins to come up.  We praise God for his provision of good food just for the picking.

P4080194

P4090196

Please feel free to post or send me your questions or comments.  Help me to know what to write about, what is helpful or edifying.  Thank you all and may the Lord bless you in your homesteading endeavors.

2 thoughts on “A Late Spring And A Confession

  1. Judy,
    It is always nice to hear what you are doing. My wheat (red winter) is looking great and almost ready to flag. My garden looks about like yours, sort of slow to get started this year. I love your cabbage protectors. Did David make those? We have been looking for morel’s but no luck so far this year. I’m really interested in your sweet potato slips. You probably mentioned starting them in February, I’ll have to go back and see what you wrote. Will you put them in pots before putting them in the garden? I love sweet potatoes and would like to put them in the garden this year but I’m afraid it is too late.

    I know you have written about this topic before, but I would like to read again about your journey to non-electric land. Would you do anything differently? I would also like to read about your wood cookstove. They have always fasinated me, but I’ve never seen one in action. How do you regulate the temperature, clean it out, etc. etc. Just some ideas that came to my mind as I was reading your latest post.

    Have a lovely day, looks like nice weather today in central OK.
    Manette

  2. Manette, thank you so much. Actually, I made the collars out of 15lb roofing paper. It’s 36″ wide and I cut 4″ strips then cut those in half to make two collars and secured them in a ring with paper clips. Staples would work as well. I told David to remind me to do the same when I set out the tomatoes and peppers. I’m headed out to the garden with ideas bubbling in my head. I’ll elaborate more on the sweet potatoes, off-grid journey and the wood cookstove. Bless you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

