Money For Nothing And Your Chicks For Free

I confess.  I’ve been covetous.  Lately I’ve been studying other people’s blogs – lovely custom headers and fonts, professional looking pictures, and those neat little widgets that generate a commission when someone clicks on them and makes a purchase.  I was torn.  On the one hand I wanted my blog to portray simplicity and separation from what I believe is a corrupt world system.  But on the other. . .  Well, maybe just a few little affilliate links wouldn’t hurt.  Wordpress, however, doesn’t allow any advertising so I began a new learning curve and started tweaking a template on Blogger.  Oh my the things I’ve learned.  I learned how to use Paint to create a custom header, how to tweak the HTML and inserrt CSS to change the look of things.  Admittedly I usually can figure out just enough of that kind of stuff to frustrate myself which is exactly what happened.  I just couldn’t get it right.  I’ve spent literally hours and megabytes of bandwidth trying unsuccessfully to create a compromise between what I believe and what everyone else is doing.  And that, friends, was my lesson.

So, I won’t be moving to Blogger.  I won’t try to rationalize what, for me, would be hypocrisy.  I won’t start with a few little pretty links and end up turning my simple little journal into a virtual billboard.  You few readers are smart enough to do your own shopping.  I won’t waste time and energy worrying that my blog doesn’t look like a page from Martha Stewart Living.  And I won’t miss the profit from a few little commissions that might have even turned into a pretty good living if I’d worked at it.  I have work enough to do here on the homestead and the “profits” I generate are immeasureably more valuable than just a little more of the world’s mammon.

6 thoughts on “Money For Nothing And Your Chicks For Free

  1. Judy,
    I like your blog just as it is. I have a distrust of those “simplicity” blogs that have all the bells and whistles. Makes me wonder if they really know what they’re talking about.

    If it isn’t broke, don’t fix it…

  2. Well, I guess I’m not the only one! I have also wasted too much time with blog tweaking. Actually, I did the opposite of what you did: I was thinking of moving to WordPress and created a simple blog template, but sometimes WordPress confuses me so I have stayed with Blogger. Blogging can be such a distraction when we focus on the peripherals. I would like to simplify the look of my blog, and make it less “busy” looking, but I also like to support agrarian friends on my sidebar, and promote the products and books of those who are trying to make an income outside of the world’s system of “wage slavery”.

    I love your simplified blog look and I think that it’s more important for the message to stand out. Just as when we dress simply, our true character can shine, rather than artificial embellishments ~smile~.

  3. LOL, I was really expecting a chicken post when I saw the title. I confess, I went over to my blog & tried to figure out if it was simple or not. I do like a background but every time I get discontented comparing my blog to anothers & change it everything else needs to be re-formatted, so I just leave it be for a year or so as it’s a headache & I’ve not got tech skills or time. If it’s any consolation I really like just the header look of your blog, but can’t figure out how to put my own picture up. I think if I simplified mine more I could maybe even get Mike to write a post.

  4. Vanessa, I enjoy your blog very much. I can always count on it to provide “virtual fellowship” with a fellow agrarian and that, along with good practical information, is exactly what I’m looking for in the internet world.

Leave a Reply

