Smoke Signals

Just a quick update on what’s going on today.

Doodad is training this week for an upcoming deployment to Afghanistan.

We’re now in the beekeeping business, being blessed with a gift of 4 hives.  It’s a learning process but I’m finding them just as cuddly as goats.  I’m working on a wonderful blog post about it all, if I could just get the video to work right.  Until then. . .

Here I am studying  (I spend lots of time studying) what we need to do on our first real venture into the hives.

101_0171

And here are the grandchildren suited up and ready for action.  I was very proud of them.  They were both uncompromisingly brave and good helpers.

101_0179

101_0163

We planted sweet potato slips yesterday and have been blessed with small, early harvests of tomatillos, onions and peppers for salsa.  We’re still battling cabbage worms, but the harvest looks like it will be reasonable.  Today we’ll plant snake gourds (a squash-bug-proof alternative to summer squash), dill and sunflowers.

I’ll be bringing the rabbits down from the “big house” today.  Lord willing the snakes will leave them alone.

I’m back to hand-washing laundry, which certainly deserves a post all it’s own.  It dawned on me as I was washing that the rub-board doesn’t mimic the automatic washer, but the automatic washer is a poor imitation of the rub-board.

Wisdom for the day:  Nobody every died from discomfort (or inconvenience.)

3 thoughts on “Smoke Signals

  1. What a great gift to receive in those hives. I so want to join you in the adventure but need a little more land before that will ever happen. All in good time though. And your grandchildren look so cute in their beekeeping gear. Those pics are precious.

  2. Hi Judy!

    I pray the Lord grants your husband a safe training and mission according to His will. What a blessing to have those bee hives. We pray God sends us one here someday! I just started hand washing my laundry, too. I bought a “Rapid Wash” plunger from Lehman’s for about $16 and I highly recommend it. Danielle borrowed it the other day and she said she got so much more done in the same amount of time. Just in case you wanted to consider it. May the Lord bless and keep you and yours. Susan

  3. Just found your blog…thanks for taking the time to write about your life with us. I enjoy it very much and looking forward to reading more.
    God Bless…

Leave a Reply

