Canned Steak and Onions,

And sometimes mushrooms, too.  Several have asked for my recipe for the steak I’ve been canning.  The pictures aren’t the best, but here’s pretty much how I do it.  I’m not much of a recipe person and usually just wing it, so if anyone has questions just let me know.

As I posted earlier, I’ve been checking the local grocery for their quick sale meats.  Pretty much anything I can find for less than $2.00/lb I’ve been buying up and canning.  This week I found chuck tender steaks.  I can these and most everything anymore in wide mouth pints, as it’s usually just Doodad and I for meals.

In canning any meat, in my opinion, a better appearance and flavor come from browning the meat first.  In the case of beef I like to sear it in a cast iron skillet.  This can be kind of a scary process if you’ve never done it, because you’ll think you’ve made a huge, sticking mess.  Patience is the key.  Get your skillet good and hot, almost smoking, and use just a little bit of oil.  Add the steaks in a single layer.

This is where the patience comes in.  When you put the meat in the skillet it will stick immediately.  Take a deep breath and resist the urge to mess with them.  In a few minutes they’ll come loose.  I promise.  These are small steaks, but some were just a bit too big to fit in the jars and had to be trimmed up.  In hindsight I’d have trimmed them before browning.

When the meat turns loose from the pan, flip it over and repeat the process on the other side.  Try not to disturb it too much so it doesn’t release all its juice and steam instead of sear.   Removed the meat from the pan when it’s well browned on both sides and set it aside.

Add sliced onions to the pan along with a bit of salt and turn the heat down.  Brown the onions and add some sliced mushrooms if it suits you.  When the onions are brown and the mushrooms start to wilt, add about 1/2 cup of water, stirring well to bring up all the nice brown stuff from the bottom of the pan.

101_0141

Pack clean jars with the steaks, topping off with some of the onions and mushrooms.  Save all the juices from the skillet and the set aside meat.  Extend the juices with boiling water so that you have about 1/2 cup for each jar of meat.

101_0142

Add 1/2 teaspoon salt to each jar (1 teaspoon for quarts) along with the reserved and extended juices.  Top each jar off with boiling water up to 1″ headspace.  Wipe the rims well.  I usually wipe them twice when canning meat and use vinegar for the last wipe to cut any grease that might be present.  Close the jars with clean, hot lids and rings and pressure process at the recommended pounds for your altitude for 75 minutes for pints, 90 minutes for quarts.

4 thoughts on “Canned Steak and Onions,

  1. Hi Judy,

    Nice looking canned beef. Do you leave it in steaks, or cube it…I can’t quite tell from the pictures, but the back L jar looks cubed, maybe? I’ve been buying rump roasts, cubing it and raw packing it with 1 tsp. salt and a garlic clove in widemouth quart jars. The first time, I ended up with jars only 1/2 full when done, as the beef shrunk down. So now I lightly tap the meat down into the jar; and they look about 3/4 or more full, when done. Then I just drain the juice, thicken it with flour/water and add the cubes and heat 10 minutes. I serve over egg noodles or it would be good over biscuits too.

    Thanks for the “browning” idea, I’ll try that with some steaks soon. But none of the recipes I’ve used call for added juice. With the venison I canned, I added Swansons beef broth to the first batch, which was good, but the juice leaked out of the jars some, so I then just canned the rest, raw pack without as much added juice. It’s good tasting either way.

    Beth

  2. Thanks so much for this recipe and instructions. The pictures are great. I’ll be scanning my store circulars today looking for a deal on meat then I plan to try this recipe right away. Sounds easy to do and delicious as well. Can’t wait!

  3. Wow I have never thought to wipe the rims with vinegar! I use vinegar on just about everything, greasy or other wise in our home, but I have never thought of that. We like bell peppers with our meat. Thanks for the ideas!

  4. Wow..Thanks for the recipe..I am so glad you said to leave the meat, resist turning it…lol..I watched in horror, then just like you said, they came loose, great way of searing, also I have never thought to wipe the rims with vinegar! great video..thanks.. Vern

Leave a Reply

