Smoke Signals

Just a quick update on what’s going on today.

Canned 4 half-pints of homemade sausage that my daughter made plus 7 pints of steak fingers and onions.  I found round steak on sale at our little hometown grocer for $1.99/lb.

Discovered that beans left to soak till they sprout still cook up to be good beans after a fresh water rinse.  They say sprouting increases the nutrition considerably.

It’s just plain cool today, very unlike our usual late April.  I’ve actually made a fire in the woodstove in preparation for baths this evening.  We southerners can be kind of soft that way; 71 degrees in the house is just too cool for my comfort for bathing.  Yea, I know.  You Yankee readers are laughing hysterically.

Took the grandchildren and went walkabout with Doodad.  More to come on that.

2 thoughts on “Smoke Signals

  1. I’ve been canning now for about a year. Trying to build up our protein stores in particular. I’ve done all the meat and chicken recipes in Ball’s blue book and I’ve found a few on the internet that passed muster with the kids. Your Steakfingers and Onions sounds like one I’d love to try. Would you mind handing out the recipe or is a family secret? I know I would really appreciate it and there might be others who would love to give it a try. Thanks..

Leave a Reply

